Kicking Off the “50 Things To Do In My 50th Year” Project

Yesterday was my birthday, so it seemed only appropriate to start working on the “50 Things to do in my 50th Year” list.

Actually, I accomplished one of the items on my list on Sunday (6/14/15), which technically is cheating because it didn’t occur between June 15, 2015 and June 14, 2016, but when my dear friend LH invited me to go to Tienda Ho in Santa Barbara (Item #46 on the list), I couldn’t resist. Tienda Ho is a really fun clothing boutique right on State Street that has been there for 30+ years and looks like a cross between the Tiki Room and the Jungle Cruise. It has all sorts of colorful, funky, hippie-esque clothing from India, Hawaii and various tropical islands, and their $20 sales racks in the back of the store are legendary! I was able to pick up two blouses thanks to the fortuitous arrival of a Visa gift card from my grandmother (thanks, Nana!), and they are flowy, colorful, and awesome. And yes, I will post pictures as soon as I wear them.

So, yes, I went to Tienda Ho, but no, I technically didn’t go during my 50th year, so I’m going to leave that item on the list for now. Besides, I would love the opportunity/excuse to go back and buy more awesome stuff.

The item I did accomplish yesterday is #18 – Eat at the fondue restaurant in T.O. Grif, Liam and I went to The Melting Pot for dinner last night, mostly because I know a few people who’ve enjoyed it and it sounded like something weird and fun to do when celebrating a milestone birthday. I haven’t eaten fondue since my mother stopped making it in the mid-70s, but I checked out The Melting Pot’s menu beforehand and decided to give it a try. I’m so glad I did.

We opted for the four-course menu, which consisted of a cheese fondue with apples, various veggies and bread chunks for dipping, a salad course (no dipping, but very tasty), and entree course with various types of meats and veggies that we cooked at the table in a pot of boiling broth, and a chocolate fondue for dessert with fruit and brownie chunks. OMG!!! It was all delicious and the staff was funny, engaging, informative and helpful as we floundered about asking questions and trying not to drip molten lava droplets on ourselves. I have to admit that I was a bit concerned at the seemingly small amounts of food we seemed to be getting for the price we were paying, but it was more than enough and all very tasty. Liam especially enjoyed the novelty of it and has decided he wants to celebrate his birthday there in August.

All in all, a wonderful way to celebrate the start of a year’s worth of adventures.

 

 

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on June 16, 2015, in 50 Things List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If you like Tienda Ho, you might also like Holy Clothing (holyclothing.com). I just ordered two tops from them and I LOVE THEM. They’re a little more Goth/hippie, but one top, which I got in green, has embroidered leaves on it and feels very faerie to me.

    I love fondue and have several pots—I think fondue parties are a blast. There’s also a Melting Pot in Portland, so when you visit, we have options!

Leave a Reply

