Flash Fiction Challenge – 100 Words

This week, Chuck has challenged us to write a flash fiction piece of no more than 100 words.  This was both terribly easy and terribly difficult for me, all at the same time.

I don’t have a title for the piece yet, but it comes in just under the limit at 97 words. And if you have a moment, I encourage you to follow the link back to Chuck’s blog to read some of the other entries. There’s some pretty great stuff there.

_____

“I’m scared,” she says.

I smile my most reassuring smile. “I’ll be right here with you the whole time.”

“Will it hurt?”

“Only for a moment, like ripping off a Band-aid.”

She exhales deeply and closes her eyes, trusting me. “Okay, I’m ready.”

I gather her into my arms, pressing our bodies together. My quick jab elicits a tiny gasp from her lips, and then she softens, relaxing against me.

When it is over, I gently kiss her brow before laying her limp form against the pillows.

Then, I rise and leave, already thinking about my next appointment.

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on March 25, 2015, in Fiction, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

