Summer Vacation!!!!

Woo Hoo! Liam’s last day of school is today (even though we finished the curriculum last Friday), so we are officially on summer break until August 11th. These past few months have been really busy and full for us (who knew the work load was going to increase so much in middle school!), and I’ve missed my weekly writing sessions, but now that I have 4-5 hours of my day back, I’m going to restart the habit of regular writing. It’s a good thing, too, because I’ve had lots of ideas rattling around in my brain and I need to get them out of there so the good stuff can come through.

I don’t really have much of a plan or theme for my writing, but I do have a few things I’d like to accomplish. I’ve been writing bits and pieces of a long, multi-arc story that involves the same two characters meeting and interacting in different times and places, and I’d like to work more on that project. As it stands right now, I’ve got a fantasy/D&D storyline, a present day story line (the “bit of fiction” posts, in case you want to catch up), a post-apocalyptic story line and a Victorian/steampunk storyline going, and I’ve been writing bits of story and plot as they come to me. I also have a bunch of one-off, short-story things bouncing around in my brain that are probably more like thought exercises. I’m occasionally intrigued by the “prompt of the day” stuff WordPress posts, so if one of those gets my muse wiggling, I’ll probably do some of those as well.

Finally, a bit of housekeeping. I turned off the feature that automatically posts links on Facebook and Twitter anytime I post something. I’ll “alert the media” if I’ve posted anything I’m particularly proud of, but feel free to subscribe or check back on a regular basis if you’re worried about missing anything. Also, after fielding a couple of mean-spirited comments on the Stir The Embers blog, I’m moderating comments here and on that blog as well. I welcome your comments and promise to make sure they post right away (I even have an app on my phone so I can do it on the fly!), but I reserve the right to not post comments that I feel are trollish, spammy or rude. Feel free to contact me directly if you have specific questions or concerns about that.

Namaste~

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on June 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We should book a “Writing Day” where we each host the other with tea and noshes, and just WRITE. Or we could go out to coffee shops and pretend to write. I say pretend, because I’ve never been really good at writing in public places. It’s like walking around in ones underwear.

Leave a Reply

