Steampunk Halloween 2011

Our steampunk outfits for a Halloween party

Grif, Liam and I went to a steampunk-themed Halloween party this evening. I’ve heard it said that steampunk happened when the goths discovered brown, and I definitely fall into that category, being a big fan of all things neo-Victorian and goth. I didn’t really have a chance to cosplay goth much in my younger days because I was too busy doing the Elizabethan/Renaissance/pirate scene, but now that there are so many resources for neo-Victorian, goth and steampunk costumes, accessories, and ephemera, I’m having a marvelous time.

I’m so glad Liam and Grif like to play dress up with me because, as Winnie the Pooh once said, it’s much friendlier with two (or more). Liam and Grif have their top hats from Thomas and Shannon’s Victorian-themed wedding a few years ago, and they both look so dapper in their suit pants and collarless shirts. I bought an extravagant hat from Victorian Trading Company a few years ago (the one I’m wearing in my profile picture), and I try to build outfits around it and a gorgeous, black wool riding coat from the same company that I wore to officiate the same wedding. And yes, I wore the black leather bustier.

I’m still learning my way around WordPress’s bells and whistles, but I’ll post a picture of the three of us if I can figure out how to do it.

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

