Half Marathon Training Update

I walked five miles this morning and another mile this afternoon. Six miles is not quite half the distance of a 13.1 mile half-marathon for those playing along at home, but I’m right on track as far as my training schedule goes.

My regular walking buddy is recovering from an injury, so I walked by myself this morning and really struggled with it. Why is it so much harder walking by myself? I’m pretty self-motivated when I set my mind to something, so I knew I was going to do it, but I didn’t enjoy it. Some days the workout is easy and some days you just slog through it and hope you survive.

Normally, I don’t mind being alone. I’m naturally an introvert (I know, weird, right?) and don’t really need a lot of company or to constantly be around people. My walking buddy is one of my BFFs, and I enjoy her company in the morning. When we walk together, we can usually keep a pace of under 15 minutes per mile, but when I walk alone I struggle to make 15 to 15.5 minutes per mile. I’m not normally very competitive, but maybe having someone to walk with encourages me to walk faster. Maybe I don’t notice the faster pace or the distance because I’m so involved in our conversation that I’m not thinking about it. Maybe I need to get better music on my phone for when I walk alone. (I have plenty of upbeat songs, but haven’t figured out how to set up a playlist that only plays the workout-appropriate stuff, so I spend a lot of time the less motivational stuff.)

I’m definitely a quick-and-easy sort of gal, so maybe I just get bored walking laps around the same block for more than and hour. Whatever the reason, it is something I’ve definitely noticed and something I want to explore as I increase my distance and my time walking alone.

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a fellow introvert, working out alone takes all the fun out of working out. Running by myself is normally 9:45-10 min pace. Running with Molly 8:45 to 9:15 pace. Riding 18-21 mile per hour pace with a group. 15-18 mph pace by myself. It’s normal. You need friends to help with distance and speed.

  1. Pingback: Thoughts for walking with a buddy « Walking 4 Cans

Leave a Reply

