Half-Marathon Training Update

I had some good news this week about my half-marathon training. I’m not as slow and out of shape as I thought I was. I couldn’t figure out why my pace was so much quicker when I walked laps with my training buddy as opposed to walking straight-aways by myself. I started to have my suspicions when the lap I was sure was a mile square clocked in at .75 of a mile on my pedometer. Sure enough, my buddy confirmed it on Monday – my pedometer is off. I never bothered to set the stride length on it because I assumed my stride was average length, but evidently it isn’t. That means that on my solo days, I was actually walking quite a bit further than I thought, which would explain why I thought my time was so slow. Typically, I average 15-16 minutes per mile, which is just at the pace limit for the half-marathon I’m running in January, so as long as I can maintain that pace for the entire 13.1 miles, I won’t be swept up by the Van of Shame. Of course, I’d like to get faster, so I’ll be working on improving my speed as well as my distance between now and the race.

I have a renewed sense of confidence and purpose now. This looming race is starting to seem possible again.

About lisacle

Author, homeschooling mom of an amazing kid and circus acrobat-in-training, loom-knitter, wanna-be pirate and steam punk, history buff.

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

